Follow that dream

I advise that you follow your dream. I am 60 years old so I’ve been around the block a bit.

My father in law was offered a contract with the Chicago White Sox in their farm system. He was recently married so he took a job as a butcher’s apprentice because the pay was better.

Many years later I asked him what he would do if he could do it over again. Keep in mind that he owned two local grocery stores by that time and made a very comfortable income.

“I would probably take the White Sox offer,” he said.

Two of my sons had a dream of becoming famous as a rock band.. For most people, it is difficult to make a living playing music, of course. My oldest son is now doing very well in LA putting together programs for radio stations. My second son set up a studio in his home and now records bands there.

Then there are people like me. I did not have a powerful dream but I enjoy my life immensely.

Last Sunday my wife dragged me to a new  Church closer to home. Miracle of miracles. I thought the preacher is spot on with his sermon.

I never thought much of this, but the preachers said it was wrong to think of Bible superstars like Abraham and David as “holy.” If you read the Bible you will see they were downright scoundrels.

We might even go back to that Church next Sunday. I love preachers who wake up the crowd. Jesus is a liberal, you know.

One response to “Follow that dream

  1. Yesss!!! Jesus was a kind fellow…and usually right about stuff.

Leave a Reply

